During the CAAP flag raising ceremony held last September 2, Deputy Director General for Administration MGen. Ricardo C. Banayat, AFP (Ret.) led the unveiling of the 12 winners of the CAAP-ICAO Commemorative Postage Stamp Digital Design Contest as part of the ICAO – International Civil Aviation Organization 75th anniversary this 7 December 2019.

Through a partnership with the Philippine Postal Corporation (PPC) and the contest theme, “ICAO 2019, 75 Years of Connecting the World,” the Authority hopes to promote ICAO’s 75 years of service towards a united, safe, efficient, and secured global aviation sector.

Thirty-eight (38) entries from various CAAP airports and offices nationwide were submitted to the CAAP’s International Civil Aviation Coordinating Staff (ICACS). Last August 23, 2019, these entries were rated by a distinguished set of judges from the Philippine Postal Corporation, from the visual arts sector, from the Commission on Audit, and also including Administration and Finance chief BGen. Ernesto R. Milo AFP (Ret).

The 12 winners announced during the flag raising ceremony will be featured on the CAAP Calendar 2020. The grand prize winner will be announced during the Authority’s International Civil Aviation (ICA) Day celebration this coming December.

Through the ICAO Electric Bulletin No. 2017/1, member States were encouraged to issue commemorative postage stamps to promote awareness of the ICAO and highlight the anniversary. During the 50th (1994) and 65th (2009) ICAO anniversaries, CAAP, then as the Air Transportation Office (ATO), also issued commemorative stamps in line with these celebrations. These stamp design entries may now be viewed on the ICAO website, www.icao.int.